Facebook to roll out Timeline to all users

Posted on Jan 25 2012 - 11:47pm by Julius

Social networking site Facebook will be rolling out its Timeline feature to all users in the next few weeks. This means that those who don’t want to change the look of their profile pages to the new feature will have to settle for it as it will become mandatory.

Facebook said on a blog post on Tuesday that it will launch the new feature to all users “over the next few weeks.”

While the feature is loved by many users, some don’t think it is a good idea as info that have already disappeared from their accounts will be easily traceable.

“When you upgrade to timeline, you’ll have seven days to review everything that appears on your timeline before anyone else can see it,” wrote Facebook engineer Paul McDonald on the official Facebook blog. “You can also choose to publish your timeline at any time during the review period. If you decide to wait, your timeline will go live automatically after seven days. Your new timeline will replace your profile, but all your stories and photos will still be there.”

A number of users went online to protest the roll out of the feature, posting comments on how to revert back to the old look. “I want to revert to old Facebook look and by taking a survey, it seems to us that around 40 to 42 percent current users want to remove timeline. So Facebook should better keep both options open for users,” said user Bibaswan Dey, who received 800 likes for the comment.

 

via: Facebook

About the Author

Leave A Response